OFFENSE: First and 10 on team A’s 20 yard line. At his 10 yard line, A1 cocks his arm to pass. B2 reaches in and slaps the ball, causing the ball to fall to the ground at team A’s six yard line. B3 scoops up the ball and advances into team A’s end zone. A1’s passing hand was moving forward when the ball was knocked free. (NFHS 2-31-2)

Correct! Wrong!

b) Prior to releasing the ball on a pass, if the potential passer is contacted, and the ball is released, it is a forward pass if his arm was moving forward on contact.

2. DEFENSE: During a running play, B1 obstructs the forward progress of A2 when in the act of removing his flag. (CARA Rule 13-A-11)

Correct! Wrong!

c) The defensive player shall not hold, grasp, or obstruct forward progress of a ball carrier when in the act of removing a flag. 10 yard penalty.

SPECIAL TEAMS / MISCELLANEOUS: After a safety is scored, the scoring team puts the ball in play at their own: (CARA Rule 12-B)

Correct! Wrong!

c) When a ball becomes dead in possession of a player on, above, or behind player’s own goal line, it is a safety. After a safety is scored, the scoring team puts the ball in play at their own 20 yard line.