1. OFFENSE: 2nd down and goal from Team B's 10 yard line. After player A1 receives the snap, he rolls out on a run-pass option looking for receiver A2. A1 briefly tucks the ball in and runs to the 9 yard line before retreating back. A1 completes a pass from the 12 yard line to A2 in the end zone. What is the result of the play? (CARA Rule 11-B-4)

Correct! Wrong!

ANSWER: a) The ball carrier cannot advance past the line of scrimmage, then come back behind the line of scrimmage and attempt to pass the ball forward (over and back rule). The 5-yard penalty is enforced from the spot of the pass and the loss of down results in 3rd down.

2. DEFENSE: A1 passes from behind the line of scrimmage and is subsequently contacted by B1. The contact was caused by A7 blocking B1 into the passer. Is this a roughing the passer penalty? (CARA Rule 13-A-7-c)

Correct! Wrong!

ANSWER: b) The contact was caused B1 being blocked into A1.

3. SPECIAL TEAMS: Team A declares a punt on 4th down at their own 35 yard line. The snap occurs before the kicker is ready and the ball touches the ground at the Team A's 30 yard line. The kicker quickly kicks the ball out of bounds at Team B's 45 yard line. Where will the ball be spotted? (CARA Rule 9-C)

Correct! Wrong!

ANSWER: c) During a declared kick, the ball is dead if the ball touches the ground; the kicker may not pick up the ball off the ground.